Book Review: The Sign of Four by Arthur Conan Doyle

The Sign of Four (Sherlock Holmes, #2)The Sign of Four by Arthur Conan Doyle

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

The Sign of Four is the second in the series of stories/novels published, featuring the crime detective, Sherlock Holmes. It is based on the second case in which Dr. Watson supports Holmes, as he tries to figure out the mystery behind the Indian treasure and a murder which was committed for it.

Journeying through the entire of London, this book explores the importance of trails left by the criminals. Also, this book underlies with some useful secondary characters.

Thoughts about the book:

1. The title of the book is very apt, signifying the document, The Sign of Four, deliberately left at the crime scene. It is also the basis of the background of the crime.

2. The character sketch portrays Holmes as an arrogant and cunning man and Dr. Watson as the romantic supporter. The attributes of the characters are well divulged by the author.

3. The writing style is good, grabbing the reader’s interest. Though, it is judgmental, in regard with the historical facts included in the story. The words and the statements drip with the ideology of the author but not of the character, it seems.

4. The mystery of the book is not very entertaining. With a few twists, the book lacks in the luster of a crime thriller.

I would recommend this book to a classic reader who likes a bit of mystery in the books and for those of you who are quite factual and likes a story based on concrete evidence, I’d suggest you to avoid this book.

View all my reviews

.

I am not able to read many books right now. I am stuck on Stephen King’s Under the Dome. This one is my most recent review on goodreads. From now on, I will be posting some old ones at least for a while… till I find my way through King’s monstrosity.

Leave a comment