Thoughts About Jane Eyre

Jane EyreJane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë

Jane Eyre, for me, is a young maiden who matured in life through experiences which helped her become an independent being. She is an epitome of innocence and passion at once. She regards the religion but she isn’t a religious fanatic. I wonder how it would have seemed to the general folk of the mid 19th century when this book was published. The character would have been certainly despised because she brings forth an idea of feminism in this well-written classic by Charlotte Bronte.

What I liked about the book?

1. The character sketch is admirable, especially that of Mr. Rochester. He comes out to be a savager of emotions but still, he has an affable side to him as well.

2. The independence portrayed that of Jane Eyre sends across a message (must have sent across a message to the Victorian women). There is one point where Jane says that women must have some activity just like men. They are not made to be subjected to kitchen work alone.

3. The romantic nature of the book is tender and leaves an impression on you.

What I did not like about the book?

1. The long introspective paragraphs were sometimes tedious to read. The language otherwise was pleasant. Being a modern reader, it was a little tiresome for me to read certain pages of this book.

This book is a little present from a deeply thoughtful person who has shared her own life affairs, it seems from the book. After all, it was initially published as Jane Eyre: An Autobiography. It was clear from the subject matter and the events of the story that they had a certain meaning for the author as well.

View all my reviews

You can be my friend of goodreads here.

9 thoughts on “Thoughts About Jane Eyre

  1. Although it was quite verbose at times, this was one of my favorite books of all times and I read it first as a teenager. I recently had the pleasure of reading it again as an adult, while closed away in a mountain cabin during a cold and rainy week in front of a stone fireplace this past spring. It couldn’t have been a nicer setting for such a book in front of the warmth of that fire and the book took on a whole new perspective as an adult. I am glad you could enjoy it.

    • Wow! That must be a beautiful setting. Thanks for sharing.
      Yes, I liked the book. It was a good read. It was somewhere in the middle that I sort of started loving Janet. Afterwards, that converted into an understanding.

      The only thing that I find really bothersome in this book is Jane’s surrender to Mr. Rochester earlier when they were about to be married. I found it improper somehow. I am still doubtful about that.
      Was Jane in so much need of dependency (even though she says she is independent)? I don’t know.

      • I was in an orphanage. It felt as if it were loneliness that forced that relationship to me. Improper perhaps because of their positions in society.

      • I don’t think it was improper because of their positions.
        But it was as if Jane had surrendered her spirit to Rochester.

        She was so in love with him. But how could it be so that Jane, a passionate and strong character devote herself fully to a man?

        Some times I felt that Bronte had specified the superiority of males in the book.

        Yes, loneliness can result to such relationships. May be I am missing something there.

      • I had been 12 years single and thought myself powerfully independent, and that a man in my life was an unnecessary, trivial and bothersome thing. Then I fell “in love” at the age of 46. It was bound to happen, I suppose. I am eternally grateful that I never say never.

Leave a Reply

